Kentucky Football Coaches Association 2013 Awards — The Kentucky Football Coaches Association has announced the Player of the Year and Coach of the Year awards to be presented during halftime of the KHSAA championship game for each class. The Player of the Year for each class will be announced at the awards ceremony.

From the VYPE area, DeSales’ Dylan Byrd and Christian Academy of Louisville Coach Stefon LeFors are among the honorees for Class 2A. Player  Lawson Page and coach Jerry Lucas of Collins are recognized in Class 4A.

In class 5A, Matt Elam and coach Chad Lewis of John Hardin are the player and coach of the year for District 3, Trevor Carnell of Bullitt Central and coach Darrell Vincent of Bullitt East represent District 4, and coach Jamie Reed of South Oldham is the coach of the year for District 5.

Class 6A District 3 honorees are Joe Brown and first-year head coach Gary Wheeler of Butler. District 4 selections are Davis Mattingly and coach Chris Wolfe of Male. Will Bush of Ballard is player of the year for District 5 and Fern Creek’s Joe Nichols is coach of the year.


 Player of the YearSchoolCoach of the YearSchool
1A  District 1Jake GuhyMayfieldJoe MorrisMayfield
District 2Ron KoontzBethlehemConner BallardBethlehem
District 3Steve FromeyerEminenceJalen WashingtonFrankfort
District 4Mitchell CodyLudlowRick HornsbyLudlow
District 5Chris HeltonWilliamsburgJerry HerronWilliamsburg
District 6Brandon JonesHazardBart ElamPineville
District 7Daylin BeachRacelandJoe ChiricoPaintsville
District 8Cody EstepPikevilleChris McNameePikeville
100th winJohn MyersRussellville
100th winCraig FoleyFrankfort
2A  District 1Elijah SindelarCaldwell CoDavid BarnesCaldwell Co
District 2Houston HartzOwensboro CatholicJohn EdgeOwensboro Catholic
District 3Evan JaggersGreen CoFred HarbisonMetcalfe Co
District 4Dylan ByrdDeSalesStefon LeForsCAL
District 5Nate McCoyGallatin CoTim BrowningGallatin Co
District 6Kagan SkidmoreSomersetRandy FrazierMiddlesboro
District 7Jalen BealCovingthon Holy CrossMatthew SchmitzNewport
District 8Dylan HamiltonBetsy LayneEddie MeltonLeslie Co
UndefeatedDavid BarnesCaldwell Co
150th winAl StarnesCrittenden Co
3A  District 1Derek OverstreetPaducah TilghmanRandy WyattPaducah Tilghman
District 2Jay EblenSouth WarrenMark NelsonSouth Warren
District 3Austin HartsellHenry CoJason SpencerHenry Co
District 4Tyler GuffeyWayne CoShawn ThomspnWayne Co
District 5Brent HolmanBourbon CoJohn HodgeBourbon Co
District 6Rashon NelsonMason CoDavid BuchananMason Co
District 7Kody ThornsberryMorgan CoRuss ShearerJackson Co
District 8Sani WarrenBelfryPhilip HaywoodBelfry
UndefeatedJohn HodgeBourbon Co
UndefeatedDavid BuchananMason co
UndefeatedShawn ThompsonWayne Co
4A  District 1Nick LockerOwensboroJoe PrinceOwensboro
District 2Charlie TrappAllen Co.-ScottsvilleDoug PrestonFranklin-Simpson
District 3Lawson PageCollinsJerry LucasCollins
District 4Jonathan BreedinNelson CoJami EgliNelson Co
District 5Evan FletcherRussell CoBill SharpRussell Co
District 6Josiah RobinsBoyle CoLarry FrenchBoyle Co
District 7Drew HoulistonHighlandsBen NevelsHolmes
District 8Quinton BakerAshlandChris MullinsGreenup
UndefeatedLarry FrenchBoyle Co
UndefeatedJim MatneyJohnson Central
5A  District 1Cody CriderGraves CoLance GregoryGraves Co
District 2Devin HayesBowling GreenKevin WallaceBowling Green
District 3Matt ElamJohn HardinChad LewisJohn Hardin
District 4Trevor CarnellBullitt CentralDarrell VincentBullitt East
District 5Drew ParkerConnerJamie ReedSouth Oldham
District 6Drew BarkerWest JessamineDan GoochMontgomery Co
District 7Damien HarrisMadison SouthernJohnny HinesPulaski Co
District 8Carson WhiteheadHarlan CoTom LarkeyHarlan Co
UndefeatedKevin WallaceBowling Green
6A   District 1Jordan TroutmanMcCracken CoJack HaskinsMcCracken Co
District 2Jonah ShacklettMeade CoMark Perry Central Hardin
District 3Joe BrownButlerGary WheelerButler
District 4Davis MattinglyMaleChris WolfeMale
District 5Will BushBallardJoe NicholsFern Creek
District 6Brennan KuntzSimon KentonJeff MarksberrySimon Kenton
District 7Scott DanielScott CoJim McKeeScott Co
District 8R. J. TaylorTates CreekMike HarmonTates Creek
UndefeatedJim McKeeScott Co
UndefeatedJeff MarksberrySimon Kenton
200th winSam SimpsonHenry Clay
200th winPaul RainsPaul L. Dunbar


VYPE High School Sports/Louisville

Your #1 site for Kentucky sports news and information!

If you are a fan of UK or UofL, we have your news right here! Stay up to date with your favorite team all in one place!

  • UK News
  • Louisville News
  • All News from Division 1 Programs in the State!
Close this popup

Stay up to date with all your UK/UofL news! Follow us!